The Amstel House building was born with a noble destiny: host the youth. Since its opening in 1913 it first sheltered young single men workers that newly arrived in Berlin. Designed by architect Otto Kohtz, the building was a hot novelty for its times - made to gleam! The advantages of natural light were being celebrated at the time, thus the big glass widows all around the lobby. There were even baths and a roof garden on the top floor – sadly lost over time.
The official opening took place 1914 in a celebrity party in honor to the 25th anniversary of William II’s reign with the presence of the Majesty himself! He was the last Kaiser, the eldest grandchild of the British Queen Victoria. The mark of this epoch is still remembered with a wall sign in our backyard.
Made in Art Nouveau style by Georges Morin our impressive hostel façade recalls the Lüftlmalerei, an upper-Bavaria art form of mural paintings. This over 100 years beauty is now a city’s historical heritage.
In the course of the last 100 years the building has undergone major reforms, until it caught the eyes of two friends. Bart Mouwen and Peter van Amstel discovered the hidden treasure on a bike trip throughout Berlin. The Amstel House was born in 2005!
Since our opening we have hosted hundreds of thousands content guests from all around the world. We have been the stage for biker meetings, live concerts, collective cooking events, great parties and many good hours of sleep.
Now we are in the midst of spreading love and design throughout all our corners with the help of Berlin lover and Dutch designer Harm Rensink. Harm is an award winning interior space architect that fuses architecture, fashion and art. His task is to create a unique and good looking atmospheres for travelers to truly connect.
This website uses to give you the best experience. Agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.