WELCOME TO THE BERLIN’S FRIENDLIEST ​HOSTEL

(and we look pretty smashing as well)

 

Stage of a turbulent history, core of the alternative scene, temple of electronic music and contemporary art: no doubt, trendy Berlin is one of the world’s most interesting cities. The Amstel House Hostel Berlin is happy to welcome you to this amazing city trip. Placed in Moabit, the newest Berlin hotspot in the district of Mitte, our central location is surrounded by many of Berlin’s main sightseeing and tourist attractions.

 

Well connected by public transportation we are only a few minutes from the historical center, Brandenburg Gate, Zoo, KaDeWe, the central station and the biggest and most famous shopping promenade Kurfürstendamm. Our unique area is experiencing an artistic boom, attracting many students, artists, galleries and cultural venues. Our street neighbor, the old and famous Arminius Market Hall, is a local haven “place of good things”. It offers all kinds of fine cosiness, live music and cultural events.

 

Elected two times the best hostel staff in Europe our team is always ready to help our guests. Our reception is open 24h/7 as well as our bar. Our centenary historical heritage building in art nouveau style was totally renovated and provides modern accommodation and a great range of service such as breakfast buffet, bike rent, a cool game room, fully equipped guest kitchen, free internet and Wifi access and much more. We also have a big variety of inexpensive room types and bed offers such as private single and twin ensuite rooms, 4-bedrooms and dormitories. Female dorms, family rooms, weekend specials, Berlin-Marathon and New Year’s packages are also part of our offers.

 

For all kinds of travellers from all around the world the Amstel House Hostel is a great choice. It is a cheap and quality accommodation option and the perfect meeting point to start your travelling experience through the Berliner lifestyle.

the fantastic story of Amstel House

1913

The Amstel House building was born with a noble destiny: host the youth. Since its opening in 1913 it first sheltered young single men workers that newly arrived in Berlin. Designed by architect Otto Kohtz, the building was a hot novelty for its times - made to gleam!

1913

Kaiser

The official opening took place in 1914 in a celebrity party in honor to the 25th anniversary of William II’s reign with the presence of the Majesty himself! He was Germany’s last Kaiser and the eldest grandchild of the British Queen Victoria. The same old wall sign in our backyard keeps the memories of this epoch.

Kaiser

City Heritage

Made in Art Nouveau style by Georges Morin our impressive hostel façade recalls the Lüftlmalerei, an upper-Bavaria art form of mural paintings. This over 100 years old beauty is our precious city’s historical heritage.

City Heritage

Reborn in 2005

Dutch friends Bart Mouwen and Peter van Amstel discovered this treasure while biking around Berlin. They were instantly dazzled and decided to buy it. Looking then for a manager they put an ad on the papers, which caught the eyes of German brewer Alexander Licht. In 2005 the Amstel House is born!

Reborn in 2005

Memory maker

Since the opening we have hosted hundreds of thousands of inspiring travelers from all around the world. And we’ve been making great memories together. Biker check points, live concerts, collective cooking events, parties and art exhibitions - besides of course countless good hours of sleep - have been taking place between our walls.

Memory maker

New design

Now we are in the midst of spreading love and design throughout all our corners with the help of Berlin lover and Dutch designer Harm Rensink. An award winning interior space designer that fuses architecture, fashion and art his task is to create an unique and good looking atmospheres for travelers to truly connect. We are almost there!

New design

Willkommen im freundlichsten Hostel in Berlin

(Und wir sehen dazu noch sehr gut aus)

 

Bühne turbulenter Geschichte, Zentrum der alternativen Szene, beliebteste Stadt Europas für die Jugend, Tempel elektronischer Musik und zeitgenössischer Kunst: zweifellos ist Berlin eine der interessantesten Städte weltweit. Das Amstel House Hostel Berlin begrüßt dich in dieser erstaunlichen Metropole. Gelegen im Stadtteil Moabit, dem neuesten Hotspot in Berlins Bezirk Mitte und nicht weit von den wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten und touristischen Attraktionen Berlins gelegen.

 

Durch unsere gute Anbindung an die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel bist du in wenigen Minuten vom historischen Stadtzentrum, dem Brandenburger Tor, dem Zoologischen Garten, dem KaDeWe, dem Hauptbahnhof und der größten und bekanntesten Einkaufsmeile, dem Kurfürstendamm, entfernt. Unser einzigartiger Kiez erlebt derzeit einen Boom der viele Künstler, Studenten, Galerien und kulturelle Einrichtungen anzieht.

 

Die in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft gelegene Arminius Markthalle hat sich unlängst als Ort der guten Dinge, unter anderem mit vielen verschiedenen und preiswerten Essständen, etabliert. Konzerte und Kunst-Events finden dort meistens am Abend statt.

 

Das Amstel House Hostel bietet dir eine große Auswahl  einfacher und sauberer Zimmerkategorien. Hierzu gehören zum Beispiel Betten im Schlafsaal oder im Vierbettzimmer mit Etagenbad oder Einzel-, Zweibett- und Familienzimmer mit Bad.

 

Neben einer 24-Stunden Rezeption haben wir noch eine kleine Hostel-Bar, einen Tischtennis- und Kickerraum, sowie einen Pool-Billardtisch in der Lobby. WiFi und Internetzugang ist kostenfrei. Fahrräder kann man bei uns ebenso für wenig Geld ausleihen und unser All-You-Can-Eat Burger BBQ findet, außer im Winter, freitags statt. Tipps zum Ausgehen oder Einkaufen bekommst du, natürlich kostenfrei, auch an unserer Rezeption. Worauf wartest du? Bis bald in Berlin im Amstel House.

die fantastische Geschichte von Amstel House

1913

Unser Gebäude wurde mit einem edlen Gedanken gebaut: um die Jugend zu beherbergen. Als es im Jahre 1913 geöffnet hat, nahm es junge, alleinstehende Männer die neu nach Berlin gekommen sind auf. Vom Architekten Otto Kohtz gestaltet, war das Haus eine Besonderheit in der damaligen Zeit– gemacht um zu strahlen!

1913

Kaiser

Die offizielle Eröffnung war dann im Jahre 1914 um das 25 jährige Herrschaftsjubiläum des Kaisers zu feiern, welcher es sich nicht nehmen ließ höchstpersönlich an den Feierlichkeiten teilzunehmen. Willem II war der letzte Kaiser des deutschen Reiches und das älteste Enkelkind von der britischen Königin Victoria. An diese Epoche wird immer noch mit dem gleichen alten Mauerschild in unserem Hinterhof erinnert.

Kaiser

Denkmal

Unsere wunderschöne Hostelfassade wurde nach Vorbild der bayrischen Lüftlmalerei von Georges Morin gestaltet. Heute steht die mehr als 100-jährige Schönheit unter Denkmalschutz.

Denkmal

2005

Die niederländischen Freunde Bart Mouwen und Peter van Amstel entdeckten diesen Schatz beim Radfahren durch Berlin. Sie waren sofort begeistert und beschlossen, es zu kaufen. Auf der Suche nach einem Manager setzten sie eine Anzeige auf die Zeitung, die dem deutschen Brauer Alexander Licht ins Auge fiel. Im Jahr 2005 wird das Amstel Haus geboren!

2005

Memory maker

Seit der Eröffnung haben wir Hunderttausende von inspirierenden Reisenden aus der ganzen Welt empfangen. Und wir haben zusammen tolle Erinnerungen gesammelt. Biker-Checkpoints, Live-Konzerte, gemeinsame Kochveranstaltungen, Partys und Kunstausstellungen - neben natürlich unzähligen Stunden gutem Schlaf - fanden unter unserem Dach statt.

Memory maker

Neues Design

Jetzt sind wir mittendrin, mit Hilfe des niederländischen Designers Harm Rensink Liebe und Design in alle unsere Ecken zu bringen. Als preisgekrönter Innenraumdesigner, der Architektur, Mode und Kunst miteinander verbindet, ist es seine Aufgabe, eine einzigartige und gut aussehende Atmosphäre zu schaffen, in der Reisende sich wirklich verbinden können. Wir sind fast da!

Neues Design